Return to CRPR Index Page
An agency of the Centre Region Council of Governments, State College, PA 16801
Register Online
Municipal Committees
Municipal Advisory Committees

Centre Region Parks & Recreation serves as the official parks & recreation department for five municipalities:

  • Borough of State College
  • Township of College
  • Township of Harris
  • Township of Ferguson
  • Township of Patton

Three of those municipalities maintain citizen advisory committees with volunteer appointees.  One member of each group also serves as that municipality's representative on the Centre Region Parks & Recreation Authority (as indicated below).

2016 College Township Parks & Recreation Committee

The Parks and Recreation Committee is made up of nine members, each with a five year term; they provide recommendations to Council regarding the maintenance and development of parkland owned by the Township and annually prepares a 5-year development plan for existing parks. The members are volunteer residents, appointed by Council. Meetings are held at 7 PM at the College Twp. Municipal Bldg., unless noted otherwise.

January 18, 2016 (reorganization)         February 15, 2016 (if needed)         March 21, 2016
April 18, 2016 (if needed)                       May 16, 2016                                  June 7, 2016            June 20, 2016 (Parks Tour 6 PM)
August 15, 2016 (if needed)                   September 19, 2016                      October 17, 2016
November 14, 2016 (if needed)              January 16, 2017 (reorganization)


  • Gregory Hayes, Chair (Parks: Fieldstone, Harris Acres, Panorama Village;
  • Gordon D. Kissinger Meadow (shared)
  • Derek Kalp, Vice-Chair (Parks: Fogleman Fields, Mountainside, Spring Creek Estatesl Spring Creek Park (shared)
  • Kathleen Matason (CRPR Authority Board Member; Parks: Millbrook Marsh (shared))
  • David Schulte (Parks: Dalevue, Gordon D. Kissinger Meadow (shared); Mt. Nittany Terrace (shared);
  • Dean Lawrence (Parks: Nittany Orchard, Oak Grove)
  • Michael Lembeck-Edens (Parks: Shamrock, Slab Cabin)
  • Jude Simpson (Parks: Bike Paths, Slab Cabin Overlook, Spring Creek Park (shared))
  • Sue Smith (Parks: Limerock Parklet, Glenn Park; Stoney Batter
  • Judi Sittler (Parks: Thompson Woods Parklet and Cairns Crossing)

2016 Harris Township Parks and Recreation Advisory Committee

The Harris Township Parks & Recreation Advisory Committee meets every 3rd Wednesday at 4:30 PM, unless otherwise noted, at the Harris Township Building.


  • Eve Rhodes, Chair
  • Bob Potter, Vice-Chair
  • Pam Dunn
  • Diane Farr
  • Susan Hammerstedt
  • Diane Ishler (CRPR Authority Board Member)
  • Amy Lorek

2016 Patton Township Recreation Advisory Committee

The Recreation Advisory Committee is made up of five Township residents. The Committee advises the Board of Supervisors on improvements needed to the Township's park system and oversees the completion of park projects approved by the Board. The Committee prepares and presents for Board approval a Township Park Facilities Plan. When adopted by the Board, the plan becomes the framework for the committee's work on identifying specific park improvements to be included in each year's budget.

  • February 16 (Bulletin 16 May 2016: Meeting rescheduled for Feb. 23 due to weather conditions)
  • March 15
  • April 19
  • May 17 – parks tour
  • June 21
  • July 19
  • August 16
  • September 20 – parks tour
  • October 18
  • November 15
  • December 20 (at 12 noon)
  • January 17, 2017 - Organizational Meeting

The meeting times will be 7:30 p.m. with the exception of the parks tours and the December meeting.
Both the May 17 and September 20 parks tours will begin at 4:00 pm, leaving from the Patton Township Office parking lot.


  • Greg Turner – Chair
  • Cindy Solic – Vice Chair
  • Barry Bram
  • Rich Koch
  • Ann Taylor
  • Christopher Hurley - Non-voting as the CRPR Authority Board Member for Patton Township

Updated 12 Feb 2016

The CRPR Authority is a publicly-funded, municipal agency serving 5 municipalities since 1966. The Authority also maintains 501c3 status.
© 1999-2017 All rights reserved.
The Centre Region Parks & Recreation Authority
2643 Gateway Drive #1, State College, PA. USA 16801   (814)231-3071   Fax 814.235.7832